Advertise on ChoralNet 
ChoralNet logo
The mission of the ACDA is to inspire excellence in choral music through education, performance, composition, and advocacy.

NYC Concert, "Sacred Music in the Soviet Era" features Schnittke masterpiece, Concerto for Choir

Location: New York, USA
                                The Canticum Novum Singers, Harold Rosenbaum, director, and
                    The Russian Chamber Chorus of New York, Nikolai Kachanov, director,  present
                                                          Sacred Music in the Soviet Era
Saturday, May 15 at 8:00p.m. at St. Ignatius of Antioch Episcopal Church, 552 West End Ave.  @ 87th St.
Sunday, May 16 at 3:00p.m. at the Madison Avenue Presbyterian Church,  Madison Ave. @ 73rd St.
Two Motets:  Motet II--from Matthew 5 (10,12)                                                            Askold Murov  (1928-1996)
In Memoriam Dmitri Shostakovich *                                                                           Nicholas Reeves (b. 1981)
Triodion: Ode I, "O Jesus the Son of God, Have Mercy Upon Us"                                       Arvo Pärt  (b. 1935)
                     The Canticum Novum Singers, Harold Rosenbaum, conductor
Plam'en'em L'ubve [Flame of Love] **                                                              Nikolai Golovanov  (1891-1953)
"Chant"                                                                                                                                 Yuri Yukechev  (b. 1947)
Three Sacred Hymns                                                                                                Alfred Schnittke  (1934-1998)
    Bogoroditse, Devo, raduys'a  [Rejoice, O Virgin Theotokos]
    Gospodi Iisuse Khriste  [Lord Jesus Christ]
    Otche nash  [Our Father]
                      The Russian Chamber Chorus of New York,  Nikolai Kachanov, conductor
Concerto for Choir, in four movements                                                                                         Alfred Schnittke
   Text from The Book of Lamentations by the Armenian monk Grigor Narekatsi  (951-1003),
    translated into Russian by Naum Grebnev.
                 The Canticum Novum Singers  and  The Russian Chamber Chorus of New York
                                        Saturday evening, Harold Rosenbaum, conductor
                                        Sunday afternoon, Nikolai Kachanov,  conductor
*    World premiere May 8, 2010, St. Vartan Armenian Cathedral, NYC
**  New York premiere.
                                    Tickets/donations: $20;   students/seniors  $15
See lead article,    and      and        
  • Normally announcements aren't meant to be replied to, but if you need to contact the author, click on the icon next to the author's name above.