Advertise on ChoralNet 
ChoralNet logo
The mission of the ACDA is to inspire excellence in choral music through education, performance, composition, and advocacy.

Threnody: Déplorations and other musical laments

Location: New York, USA
Choir type: Professional Choirs
Voicing: Mixed
Threnody: Déplorations and other musical laments
Guildsingers, a professional early music consort of voices directed by Phillip Cheah, presents Threnody, a Lenten concert featuring the rarely heard Lamentations of Jeremiah by Robert White.  Extolled by Thomas Morley as one of the greatest English composers, White was part of an eminent group of Tudor composers that included Fayrfax, Taverner, Sheppard, Parsons, Byrd.  The programme also features Renaissance musical déplorations, poems of mourning written in memory of a composer or mentor.  Works include Ockeghem’s Mort tu as navrè de ton dart (for Binchois) and Josquin’s Nymphes des bois (for Ockeghem) as well as other musical laments by Gesualdo, Dufay, and Byrd.
Founded by David Rentz in 2005, Guildsingers has offered well-received performances at Columbia University, the 2007 New York Early Music Celebration, and the Swedish Church of New York.  The group has been featured on the nationally-syndicated radio program Millennium of Music, as well as WKCR's Early Music Show, and is now a cornerstone of the Music at Holy Trinity subscription concert series.  Guildsingers has been praised by concert-goers for both its virtuosic musicianship as well as its lively and innovative programming.  
This performance is part of the Music at Holy Trinity subscription concert series, Stephen Hamilton, artistic director.

Friday, 18 March, 2011, 8:00 PM
Church of the Holy Trinity
316 E 88th St. (between First and Second Avenue)

Tickets at the door: $20; $15 students/seniors.
To reserve tickets, please email, or call (917) 254-3927.
For more information please visit our website:
  • Normally announcements aren't meant to be replied to, but if you need to contact the author, click on the icon next to the author's name above.