Advertise on ChoralNet 
ChoralNet logo
The mission of the ACDA is to inspire excellence in choral music through education, performance, composition, and advocacy.

Montreal Choral Masterclass 2013

Location: Quebec, Canada
Choir type: Chamber Choirs and Vocal Ensembles
5th Montreal Choral Masterclass  -  February 28 to March 3, 2013
Already for the fifth time the Montreal Choral Institute is providing a four-day intensive workshop for choral conductors.
Six selected conductors will work with voces boreales and Les Muses Chorale.
General Information
Repertoire with voces boreales
Frank Martin - Mass for double choir (main work)
Repertoire with Les Muses Chorale (women's choir)
Edvard Grieg  - 7 Kinderlieder, Op 61 (in German)
Francis Poulenc - Petites Voix
Participants are responsible for obtaining their own sheet music.
Application Deadline December 15, 2012
Interested conductors should send a letter stating their interest, a Curriculum Vitae and, if possible, a recent video recording.  Material can be submitted electronically (PDF, mp3, mpeg).
Applicants selected for active participation will be informed by January 1, 2013.
Active candidates are automatically eligible for the Iwan Edwards Award, which covers the cost of tuition and a per diem. The recipient will be informed at a later date, prior to the Masterclass, and will have the opportunity to meet with Iwan Edwards and observe his work in Montreal.
For more information, please consult our website at or send an email to this address:
Iwan Edwards Award
In recognition of Maestro Edwards’ prodigious contribution to choral music in Canada, St. Lawrence Choir has created the Iwan Edwards Award.
St. Lawrence Choir is honoured to be able to grant the Iwan Edwards Award annually. Its recipient is selected from among the participants enrolled in the Montreal Choral Institute’s Masterclass held in Montreal. Iwan Edwards, Michael Zaugg – the current director of St. Lawrence Choir – and a member of the choir determine the winner. The award covers the fee for the workshop and a per diem.
Masterclass Participants to date include: Erica Phare, Erin Halpin, Philippe Bourque, John Guzik, Garth MacPhee,  Cathy Klopoushak, Claire Mallin, Antonio Llaca, Christopher Nickelson, Andrew Schmidt, Irene Apanovitch, Amy Henderson, Kiera Galway, Jeanne Yuen, Jonathan Oldengarm, Robert Sigmund, Rob Curtis,  Monique Orvoine, Charissa Bagan, and Melanie Marlin