Advertise on ChoralNet 
ChoralNet logo
The mission of the ACDA is to inspire excellence in choral music through education, performance, composition, and advocacy.

What's on Great Sacred Music, Sunday, October 6, 2013

Location: North Carolina, USA
Choir type: Choirs with Religious Affiliation
Great Sacred Music airs from 8 until 11 a.m. eastern. We also program
choral music on Peaceful Reflections and Wavelengths which air
Sunday evenings from 9-midnight eastern.
Rob Kennedy
Great Sacred Music
The Classical Station
Emma Lou Diemer: The Lone, Wild Bird ~ Three American Hymn Preludes
Frances Nobert, organ
Francis Jackson: O salutaris hostia
Choir of York Minster, Philip Moore
Sir Edward Elgar: Lux aeterna
Choir of New College, Oxford, Edward Higginbottom
American-born Emma Lou Diemer (1927-) received her Ph.D from the Eastman School
of Music in 1960. Dr. Francis Jackson was Organist and Master of the Choir at York Minster
from 1946-1982. Lux Aeterna is a choral setting of Elgar's gorgeous Nimrod variation from
his Enigma Variations.
Joseph Gabriel Rheinberger: Intermezzo (Andantino) ~ Organ Sonata No. 4 in A minor, Op. 98
Scott Dettra, organ
1996 Schoenstein Organ in St. Paul's Parish, K Street, Washington, DC
Imant Raminsh: Ave Maria
Vancouver Chamber Choir, Jon Washburn
Sandra Graham, mezzo-soprano
Gregorian chant: Prosa: Clemens servulorum
Anonymous 4
Scott Dettra (1975-) is currently Director of Music and Organist at the Church of the Incarnation
in Dallas, Texas. The Vancouver Chamber Choir was founded in 1971. The choir has commissioned
over 170 new choral works. Anonymous 4 sings an ancient plainsong selection from the Codex Calixtinus.
Cesar Franck: Cantabile
Naji Hakim, organ
Cavaille-Coll organ of the Church of the Holy Trinity, Paris
Charles Henry Wilton: Psalm 51
Ely Cathedral Choir, Paul Trepte
David Price, organ
Herbert Howells: All my hope on God is founded
Choir of St. George's Chapel, Windsor Castle
Timothy Byram-Wigfield
Cesar Franck's Cantabile is one of the composer's set entitled Trois Pieces
which dates from 1978. The Anglican Church of England has had special
way of chanting the psalms ever since the Reformation. Herbert Howells
wrote his hymn tune "Michael" for Robert Bridges hymn "All My Hope on
God is Founded" in memory of his son Michael.
J.S. Bach: Von Gott will ich nicht lassen, BWV 658
Hans Fagius, organ
The reconstructed Baroque organ in Kristine Church, Falun, Sweden
Henry Purcell: My beloved spake
Taverner Consort, Choir & Players, Andrew Parrott
Simon Berridge, tenor; Paul Agnew, tenor; 
Ben Parry, baritone; Simon Grant, bass
John Rutter: The Lord bless you and keep you
Cambridge Singers; City of London Sinfonia, John Rutter
Bach's chorale prelude on the text "I shall never leave God" is has the tune
in the pedal. Andrew Parrott's Taverner Consort and Players was founded in
1973 and is widely considered to be one of the world's leading early music
performing ensembles. John Rutter (1945-) founded the Cambridge Singers in 1981.
J.S. Bach: Cantata 48, "Ich elender Mensch, wer wird mich erlosen"
Amsterdam Baroque Orchestra and Choir, Ton Koopman
Bernhard Landauer, alto; Christoph Pregardien, tenor
This cantata was written for the 19th Sunday after Trinity and was first performed
in Leipzig in 1723.
Cesar Franck: Chorale No. 1 in E
Michael Murray, organ
Cavaillé-Coll organ at Saint Sernin Basilica, Toulouse
Franck's Chorale in E major is essentially a theme with three variations. The work
dates from the composer's last years.
Franz Schubert: Mass in C, D. 452
Vienna Boys' Choir; Vienna Chorus; Orchestra of
the Age of Enlightenment, Bruno Weil
Schubert wrote his Mass in C major in 1816 at the age of 19. It is scored for SATB
choir and soloists accompanied by strings and organ.
Cesar Franck: The Beatitudes, Part 1
Choirs of Radio France; New Philharmonic Orchestra, Armin Jordan
Louise Lebrun, soprano; Jane Berbie, mezzo-soprano;
Nathalie Stutzmann, contralto; David Rendall and Peter Jeffes, tenor;
Marcel Vanaud, baritone; Francois Loup and Daniel Ottevaere, bass
Cesar Franck's major choral work The Beatitudes was performed in 1879. It consists
of a prologue followed by eight movements. Part I will be aired this morning. Part II next Sunday.